A Union Of Opposites?

When I first began working Tai Chi Chuan, the first book I read spoke of a union of opposites as expressed in the Yin with Yang symbol.  It also gave me a clearer understanding of the meaning of mind over matter, explaining that the better interpretation would be the mind with matter.  The mind and body are not really in opposition to one another other as I had learned in church.  No, the mind worked with the body.  And, I actually began to see our society is most often looking for  oppositon, looking for the difference.  How often have we looked for the sameness in something? 

Tai Chi Chuan began to accompany me every where I went.  Followed me into relationships, into other sports activities, and even conversations.   Still,  it invaded my thinking when I studied the bible, or other “holy” books.  I could understand certain things with a new clarity.  With greater clarity now, I could understand the depths of teachings such as “If thine enemy be hungry, give him bread to eat; and if he be thirsty, give him water to drink: For thou shalt heap coals of fire upon his head…”  (Proverbs Chapt 25 verse 21-22) I was able to see a union of opposites at work in this teaching.

The same thoughts entered my mind as I listened to Wael Ghonim, a marketing manager of Google for the Middle East.  What stood out to me most, was what Mr. Ghonim said about his arrest and detainment during the revolution.  He was handcuffed, and blind folded for twelve days.  He was asked if he was hit and he said he was.  That it was not the police that hit him, but the soldiers that hit him.  He said he understood them, in that these are simple, uneducated people and he understood they believed he was harming the country.   Ghonim said “he’s hitting me because he thinks he’s the good guy not that he is the bad guy.”  He said, at the end of 12 days, he removed the blind fold, hugged and kissed each soldier.  Ghonim said “I wanted to send a them a message you know…”

Leave a Reply

