Are We in a Post Religion Era? Or Entering the Age of Knowing? The Case of Rev. Dr. Ann Holmes Redding

Redding had been an ordained minister for more than two decades when she converted to Islam.

Recently I was visiting Hagar’s Daughters blog and came upon an interesting post entitled, And You Call Yourself a Christian Part 3 over at the Somthing Withinblog.  The post centered around the disposition (defrocking) of Episcopal priest, Rev. Ann Holmes Redding, who has been a practicing Muslim for the last three years,  at the same time maintaining her position as a Christian priest in the Episcopal church.  The author of the post Rev. Dr. Renita J.  Weems states at the end that “I must say that while I respect and admire Ann Holmes Redding greatly, I’m still scratching my head about this one. I’m still gathering my thoughts and feelings about it.  It feels right, but I’m not sure. Perhaps we’re moving toward a post-religion era.”

Rev. Redding says “…the perspectives and practices of Islam, for me in my own experience, strengthen my witness to the good news of God, and the good news of God in Jesus, the good news of God in Muhammad, the good news of God period.  For me the paths have met and I’m walking on both of them because they’ve met…”  In a previous post here entitled Your Religion Should Do More Than Teach You Rituals, I noted “ When we embark upon seeking the Mystery, we find that the walls of ritual separation begin to come tumbling down and that our allegiance to the organization is only a platform or bridge by which to communicate the essence of the Mystery.”   

Aquarius
Jesus was the one to announce the Age of Aquarius:
“a man will meet you carrying an earthen pitcher of
water; follow him into the house where he goes in”
(Luke 22:10; Mark 14:13.) The Last Supper was the
symbol of the future “unio mystica.”

This is the region, I believe Rev. Redding has now ascended.  I believe she has spanned the vast gulf of separation and has now come to the consciousness of the One is the many and the many is the One, demonstrating exactly the point I was making.   Quite a few of the commenter’s including the author of the post at Something Within are “scratching their heads” I believe, only because they cannot see what I call the Mystery due to the ritual walls blocking their vista.  However, Dr. Weems doesn’t shut out the concept, but only wonders about it, seemingly in a positive light “…. It feels right, but I’m not sure. Perhaps we’re moving toward a post-religion era.”   Like it or not we are entering an age of truly knowing as opposed to believing, many call it the age of Aquarius where we will begin to come to a deeper understanding of the spiritual presence around us.  Post Religion Era, Age of Knowing or Age of Aquarius, no matter name the winds of change are upon us.

Leave a Reply

