Ode to my father

Earlier this month I lost my father.  It was no surprise, he had been ailing for about a year now and was slowly withering away.  I don’t write this post in sadness as my father had a great life and provided a great life for me and my siblings as well.  I’m sure he would probably say there were things he could have changed or done better, but from my point of view he was a great father and provider.  He lived on this Earth for almost eighty two years and had the opportunity to travel around the world on several occasions.  He could be very funny, always making you laugh.  On Friday eveningsIt was his time to cook and most often it was fried fish.  He would be sipping his “tea” while cooking and cracking jokes the whole time as the “tea” made him more and more tipsy, but the fish was always great, and of course it was late into the evening before we could taste his good cooking.  Daddy you will be missed, your humor, your determination, your stern ways and perseverance.  You taught us well.  And I thank you and salute you.  And I know our country salutes you for your service to the country in the U.S. Navy for 20 years!

I Did Not Die

Do not stand at my grave and weep

I am not there I do not sleep

I am a thousand winds that blow

I am the diamond glints in the snow

I am the sunlight on the ripened grain

I am a gentle autumn’s rain

When you awaken in the morning hush

I am the swift uplifting rush

I am the birds in circled flight

I am the soft stars that shine at night

So don’t stand on my grave and cry

I am not there…I did not die

…Author unknown

10 comments on “Ode to my father

  1. Hey Ensayn! I followed the stats on my blog, and got lucky. I figured out this is also your blog. Okay… I can post here. So, this is where I’ll be visiting you.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your father. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

    Take care of yourself, and be encouraged.

    Angela
    Nuvision

  2. Angela, Thank you so much you are appreciated. I love you site, I think this blog I have here fits well with yours. So, please stop by and comment as often as you like. I am so happy you decided to continue to blog. Take care!

  3. So sorry to hear about your father’s death. . . I am impressed by your acceptance of the whole affair as a part of life. . . looking forward to a time when I grow up and accept something as permanent as death in the same manner – as reality.

  4. Thanks Alisha, I had to continue to work on myself and my thoughts about life and death. The poem fits my belief, in that we don’t die we just move back to where we came from before we came to visit this realm of life. Thanks for coming by.

  5. Eon, thanks for coming by. I hope you always do and I must say I miss talking to you. I truly wish you and Lil Eon would come down here you just don’t know how much you would expand and grow and I don’t mean in size…LOL but in wealth and overall wellness. Come back again!

  6. Ensayn,

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Please know that you & your family are in my thoughts and prayers. This was a really nice tribute to your father. Thank you for sharing it.

    Peace, blessings and solidarity.

Leave a Reply

