Can meditation help you in your daily affairs?

The Pleiades, an open cluster of stars in the constellation of Taurus. NASA photo

Pleiades star system. 

I don’t know if there is a sure fire way of meditating.  Some disciplines prescribe meditating on a perticular word or sound.  As certain sounds work in conjunction with the mind, the total body or specific organs in the body.  I know of people that meditate on a certain set of thoughts, of situations or circumstances they wish to bring into manifestation or gain clarity. 

Others believe they need to be away from all distractions and sounds.  No phones ringing, children playing, no television or music playing, to acheive total concentration.  All of the above techniques are teaching you how to focus.  Focus is the act of concentrating energy onto a specific point to bring about a desired change.  In this way, we begin to learn how to create our daily existance, create our world.  Yet, this is only one facet of meditation when there are many.

For me, meditation has been a “tool” in overcoming the desire to hold on to negative thoughts and in turn, has taught me how to handle and understand the passing away of good thoughts.  I’ve been able to bring the techniques of meditating into my daily way of life.  I know that sounds corny, but let me explain.  Have you heard people say I just let negative things “roll off my back?”  This is something to be desired but, actually pulling it off takes a lot of strength.  I have often wondered about the people that say this.  Are they really letting it “roll off their backs” or are they just internalizing these negative things and it comes out later against someone close to them? 

As I play Tai Chi, many thoughts come into my mind.  Acutally, when you see someone playing Tai Chi they may look as though they are just standing still or moving really slowly, but, a lot is happening and lot is being done…I digress.  Many thoughts come into play outside of the mental work that leads the body to the next movement.  Most thoughts fall into the catagories of desires, memories or some form of reflection.  In meditating many thoughts emerge for me.  However, the work is to allow each thought to come forward, have its time, then allow it to go without lingering or holding onto it.  Have each thought, without attachment. 

As each thought comes it brings emotion with it and those emotions, whether they feel bad or good allow them to go.  Training my mind to no longer maintain attachment to my thoughts and their feelings have allowed me to practice this even when I am not in meditation and dealing with everyday life’s situation.  The mind is very powerful.  In that I have been unable to remove all sound as distractions.  I have found that the more I focus, concentrate and relax the more little sounds that I don’t normally pay attention to, become louder.  The sound of a clock ticking gets louder, if I’m out side the sound of a crickett seems to scream at me. 

I suppose meditation opens other worlds to us that we pass on our daily movements without thought.  It seems to open the world of our own thoughts and physical awareness to us.  What have you experienced during meditation? 

I included this picture of the Pleiades star system since stories by our ancestors have told us this is one of the star systems that sent elements to the Earth for the creation and evolution of human beings. The other is the Black Star Potolo, known in science as Sirius B.

7 comments on “Can meditation help you in your daily affairs?

  1. Meditation does affect your daily life. The cool thing is that the benefits happen by simply meditating. By sitting and being still. You breath and observe the thoughts… as as thoughts come to the surface they move on by. And it seems like the mind becomes more fluid. It feels like you tap into some internal strength and optimistic power (a good force). This seems to then draw different experiences and people towards you.

    Meditation seems to create a deep alert relaxation. Where you are very present yet relaxed. Many people have thought that to be relaxed, mellow you have to ‘tune out’. But that is not so.

    There is even research about meditation affecting the surrounding community in a profound and positive way.
    Smile, Jolene

  2. Nwdragonfly, You so right about meditation. It’s become and essential part of my day. I totally agree, relaxed is not tuned out or your body doesn’t have to be like a wet noodle when relaxed.

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Bohemianchick, I’m not sure you will ever get away from “distractions.” You see, as you begin to concentrate and focus you will find even though its quiet, no tv, no radio, no music you will begin hear things that you don’t normally hear. You will itch somewhere…LOL or get a really disturbing thought and you may hold onto it too long. But, thats all part of it. There is no way to remove the “distractions” but you can deal with them. You may have to find a technique that works for you. Even if you just sit still for 5 minutes and think about your breaths. When you tell the mind to be still it gets lively, when you tell the mind to get lively is quiets. Your mind is never ever empty of thouhgt ever. So thinking that you can empty your mind, it will only fill with more things. This doesn’t make it unsuccessful, but just part of the process, just don’t linger on any one thought or distraction, let it pass.

  4. I’ve never tried meditation. I’m sure I need to, though. I think I may have the same problem as Bohemiam. . . too many distractions. Then, I have this problem. . . whenever I sit still, I fall asleep (not an exaggeration).

Leave a Reply

